quick discussion about valve shims - Suzuki Z400 Forum : Z400 Forums
 15Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 42 (permalink) Old 03-06-2017, 12:09 PM Thread Starter
:::Mini LT50 Rider:::

quick discussion about valve shims

well, my 2003 is a bear to start in the cold. had it since last spring, ran great... this is the first winter ive had it and i sit there on the starter for a LONG time, just cranking away and jusssst barely feathering the throttle and itll eventually start... so that generally tells me its the shims... maybe the carb, but most likely shims....

so... im new to valve shims. im used to my quads having adjustments and lock nuts. eazy peazy... i think im understanding the shim situation... basically takes the place of the adjustment... but what shims do i need? i dont really want to wait till after i have the engine apart to look for the exact shim size i need, so i guess i need a "kit"? but the hot cams shim kit seems to be like $65... and others are like 30ish? how much difference could there be? ive got a $3000 timing job to do on my truck right now, so im a bit strapped.

so... any acceptable brands other than hot-cams?

do i need a certain size? diameter, etc?

im not even sure if that is for the ltz400, but it looks like a similar process.... at 5:10 he pulls out a curved piece of metal and says... dont drop that down the engine. where does that come from? and how many are there? its hard to make sure something doesnt fall into the engine if i dont know when its going to want to fall down the engine! haha.

thanks!!!!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 42 (permalink) Old 03-06-2017, 01:39 PM
:::Ozark 250 rider:::

Garage
Just use the search function.
I learnt how to do it from there, it's easier than you think.
To be honest 3 hours from start to finish plus a cup of coffee for the first time is about the right time.
Clymer manual ??
idiggplants likes this.

The candle that burns twice as bright,
lasts half as long.