Bad starter? Bad relay? - Suzuki Z400 Forum : Z400 Forums
  Yamaha YFZ450

Suzuki Z400

Suzuki LT-R450

Kawasaki KFX450

ATV Videos

Can-Am DS450

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-04-2010, 12:29 PM   #1 (permalink)
:::Z-250 Rider:::

Exclamation Bad starter? Bad relay?

Hey guys, I've been having this problem for a week, My 04 z400 won't fire up, everytime I try to start it I will hear a "click" from the relay. I did check the battery and it's charged at 12.6V so the battery seems to be good.

After doing some research on the forums I found out that the problem would either be a bad starter or a relay. Before I order a relay or try to rebuild the starter (something I have never done before) I would really appreciate if somebody would help me find out which of these is bad.

Thanks for the help.
polorico is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-04-2010, 12:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
Administrator

You can short the 2 cables at the relay. If the starter turns, then it is your relay.
Old 09-04-2010, 10:08 PM   #3 (permalink)

which cables would i be looking for?
Old 09-05-2010, 07:52 AM   #4 (permalink)
:::Official Spammer:::

the 2 big ones on the relay
03 ltz400,95.5bore,+5crank,P&P,13.7:1,JE piston,spacer plate,RHC +1 intakes valves,RHC #208in&187ex cams,DRZ manual decomp,DID cam chain,no air box,Sredrum TB 42mm FCR,RAT stack,WB fuel screw,EMN needle,quick shot,06 clutch 450r drive plates w/trx400 ex springs,C2HB,ex thumber,trx450r air boot, Barker Performance pipe, trailteck flywheel,dynatek,nerf bars,450r shocks, nerf bars,+4 swinger,lowered front & rear
cataway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2010, 02:28 PM   #5 (permalink)

Nothing happens when I do that, seems to be a bad starter in the case right?
Old 09-12-2010, 08:44 PM   #6 (permalink)
CFM
CFM Motorsports