Suzuki Central Forum banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm looking to gather some information regarding a timing problem that I've been chasing for the last 6 months on my z400 which is otherwise a great quad.

To make this short and quick, this atv will jump time after about 3 or 4 hours of hard riding. Both the intake and exhaust side seem to be out every time. I bring it into the garage, set the timing, everything is fine for another 3 or 4 hours and the same thing happens again.

Into a little more detail::

I bought the quad non running. Put a new DID timing chain in along with new rings, adjusted valves, timed it and everything was fine for about 4 hours. This happened only once before I bought a Namura big bore kit, fresh intake valves, and a manual timing chain adjuster. All of that was installed and valves adjusted. Same result after about 3 or 4 hours of riding. This time I inspected all bolt torques, checked the flywheel key, valves were within spec, set the timing and called it good. Same result. Runs fine for about 3 hours and then begins to run worse an worse until it will not start (by this time I am able to get it back home as soon as I notice it start to act up)

With all of that being said, when it does jump time it is always about 2 teeth off. The exhaust and intake cams are both off, not just one which would point to the flywheel key being broken (in my opinion). I have checked it and it is installed correctly and not broken. Another point to note is it does not appear to jump all at once. When riding it I can notice a loss of power, it then starts to run lean (at least what I think is lean). After this it will only start and run without sputtering with the choke on, and then it will finally die and not start at all. Bring it home, adjust the timing and it will fire right up.