Suzuki Central Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
So recently i had some white exhaust smoke on a ride out on the mountain. I stopped the bike immediately but upon inspection found the head gasket gone slightly, piston scored and barrel scored. I am leaving the head away to machine shop to get skim and overhaul. I have also figured out (thanks to you guys) that i have a hot rods crank & my piston is a Namura (destroyed) Everything else is all stock.

Now i am looking for some advice on new piston, barrel, gaskets, valve springs etc. Would you guys recommend big bore kit? Stock kit? Also might be able to afford some cams if you could advise?

After that, I want to rejet the carb to make the above mods worth while. If you think ive left something out please dont hold back. I am new to this and any advice will be greatly appreciated.

Here is a picture of my bike. I am Located in Ireland.
Ok

Attachments

·
Super Moderator
4,679 Posts
Honestly, a big bore and stock bore kit isn’t that much different in price. Might as well go bigger!
Also check your rod play at the crank and wrist pin while the piston is out.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Honestly, a big bore and stick bore kit isn’t that much different in price. Might as well go bigger!
Also check your rod play at the crank and wrist pin while the piston is out.
Cheers man. Will do. I also forgot to mention that i wont be racing the bike. Just blasting over trails etc.

·
Super Moderator
4,679 Posts
A big bore and the right cams should improve low-end torque. Even better with an FCR39 carb.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Just a bit of an update - ive got myself some stage 1 hot cams and cylinderworks big bore kit.