Suzuki Central Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Yea...That dates me as ancient....

Picked up a Z400, supposedly a 04 on a trade...Seems to be in pretty good shape...Last sport quad I had was a honda 250X that was stolen years ago. It was when the honda 250R's were the rocking kit....

Anyhow Quad runs really well. Only thing I have had to do were rear brake pads, new chain and both sprockets, and re-tap the oil resevoir drain plug, did oil filter and cleaned up K&N at same time...Greased all around also..

Now I have a ton of questions, but will try to limit them a bit...

I was told the quad had a jet kit, k&n and exhaust done...I see the K&N, but the exhaust looks stock with end removed...I'm no expert on exhausts, I only have 2 other quads and one of them has the majority of miles plowing snow, yup utility quads...LOL

So although my frame of reference for sport is 20_ years old, this 400 pulls the front up in second and that to me seems peppy...

My 11 year old has been ripping around on the Z and is in heaven, so it looks like we'll be going down the sporty quad path as I have 2 other younger boys right on his heels, just not ready to run a clutch yet...

I will post some pics for input, The quad has piggy back shocks on front and only one chain adjustment on the swingarm. I am not sure if that shows year...Somehow I thought there was 2 adjustments on 04+, but piggybacks went away at some point.

Anyhow this forum has been a big help, been plowing through old posts..

Regards,
Scott

·
Registered
1,544 Posts
Its an 05+. They 05+ come with the piggybacks. And if you post up some pics we would like to see the bike and can help you out with the exhaust question. Welcome to SC as well! Great first post

·
Premium Member
7,168 Posts