Suzuki Central Forum banner

1 - 20 of 54 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I am currently looking to buy this 08' z400. It has stage 2 jets and a pro circuit slip on and I am a noob to atv's so my friend came with to look at it etc cause he's more experienced and he said for having stage 2 jets and the slip on it feels like the bike is being restricted and want's to go faster but something won't let it. Is there any solution to that? is there a major problem or something?

·
Registered
2,286 Posts
if thats all it has done to it, it is probably getting too much fuel. with just a slip on you shouldnt really have to rejet it. take the lid off the air box and see if that helps. depending on what the jetting is exactly you may have to go down a size or so.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
well the seller drilled holes into the lid and my friend said it felt alittle restricted and so he tried it without the lid and he said it felt alittle better but still some restriction

·
Premium Member
7,168 Posts
The restriction is coming from the head pipe. If you take the stock header off and get a good aftermarket one it shouldn't feel restricted.

·
Registered
433 Posts
^+1 Ya, all slip-on's do is make noise

·
Registered
589 Posts
^+1 Ya, all slip-on's do is make noise
I hear this a lot. I have two 08 LTZ 400. Both 100% stock. A buddy and I raced the quads and it would just depend on who got the best start who would win the drag race. He weighs 5 lbs less then me. We would swap quads and the same results.

I then put a Yoshimura RS-2 slip on and a K&N air box lid and re-jetted the carb. This quad now wins every drag race no matter who rides it. It's not even close. So when I say not even close I mean 3-4 bike lengths.

So to me the three very simple things I did to the quad and relatively inexpensive $480 made a big difference.

Sorry I don't have any help for the OP problem but I just wanted to say my slip on does more then make noise

·