Suzuki Central Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I'm new to the Z400, just picked up a 2004. My problem is when I down shift looking for first gear it will go all the way down into reverse without turning the knob. I checked the cable and it is not adjusted too tight. I removed the cable completely at the shaft going into the engine and pushed the shaft all the way in by hand and it still drops into reverse. All the way in should lock it out right? I have a Clymer manual but it doesn't offer much help for this issue. Anyone have experience with this issue? Thanks.

·
Registered
342 Posts
I have never heard of a that kind of problem dude, that sucks. Hopefuly its something simple.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I've done extensive searches online and couldn't find anyone with the same problem. I can fix it myself even if I have to split the cases but I'd like a clue as to whether or not that's necessary. I'm surprised at how little info the Clymer manual has on the reverse mechanism.

·
Registered
1,286 Posts
I had it happen but it was a little bit different then what is happening with yours. Mine would go into reverse and 1st gear only. The problem was my cable was pinched at the end where it attaches to the engine. If the slider is pulled out on the engine it should only go into first gear and reverse. With the slider pushed in all the way it should not be able to go into reverse. Did the previous owner rebuild it or is this a new problem?

Explanation of how the Z locks out reverse:

2003 Suzuki LTZ400K3 Parts, 2003 Suzuki LTZ400K3 OEM Parts - BikeBandit.com